What is the Order of the Eastern Star

The Order of the Eastern Star

Who we are: The Order of the Eastern Star is a Masonic-related fraternal organization of women and men dedicated to charity, truth and loving kindness. This order is comprised of people with deep religious convictions and spiritual values, open to all faiths except no faith. Although not a part of the Masonic fraternity, membership is based on a Masonic affiliation or relationship, a belief in God and a desire to acquire additional knowledge and for self improvement. The degrees of the Order of the Eastern Star teach lessons of fidelity, constancy, loyalty, faith and love. These degrees are presented in a beautiful ritualistic ceremony designed to not only teach the lessons, but also to provide insight for future study and understanding. The organization was founded in the mid to late 1800s by our founder, Dr. Rob Morris, for the expressed purpose of offering support and affiliation to the wives, mothers, daughters, grandchildren, etc. of Free Masons. The organization is open to both male and female.

Local Eastern Star chapters select their own charities and places of service in their own communities. Some statewide projects include scholarships for ministerial students, other general scholarships for youth, and supporting a home for aged members. Each year special charities are selected for that year's emphasis and might include volunteer programs in elementary schools or volunteers in literacy programs and specific community outreach.

Eastern Star proudly supports young women's organizations such as Rainbow for Girls and Job's Daughters. For the young men, we support DeMolay.

 Dr. Morris was a learned man, a writer, a lecturer. He was the Poet Laureate of Masonry. He traveled extensively and taught. He was well versed in Masonry. And he first foresaw the need of an organization such as this -- one that was based on the same fundamental precepts as Masonry itself -- such things as Fidelity, Loyalty, Love, God & Country (all the good things that Masonry itself stands for). Yet, one that was open to both male and female members.

Today the organization spans into almost each continent and many countries across the world. OES exists in every State in the United States, plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Philippines, Scotland, Ireland, England, Italy, and currently is expanding into many countries in South America.

Who may join: Only men who are Master Masons are eligible and only women with specific Masonic affiliation may be members. These affiliations include:


  • Affiliated Master Masons in good standing:
  • their wives, 
  • daughters,
  • legally adopted daughters,
  • mothers,
  • widows,
  • sisters,
  • half sisters,
  • granddaughters,
  • stepmothers,

  • stepdaughters,
  • stepsisters,
  • daughters-in-law,
  • grandmothers,
  • great granddaughters,
  • nieces,
  • great nieces,
  • mothers-in-law, 
  • sisters-in-law,
  • aunts,

and daughters of sisters or brothers of affiliated Master Masons in good standing, or if deceased were in good standing at the time of their death; each of whom shall have attained to at least the age of eighteen (18) years, are eligible to membership in the Order of the Eastern Star.

Or if you meet one of these requirements:

  • Rainbow Girls (active member for 3 years or reached majority)
  • Job's Daughters (active member for 3 years)
  • Comments